Image / Video Subtraction techniques

Discuss digital image processing techniques and algorithms. We encourage its application to ImageMagick but you can discuss any software solutions here.
hhs_89
Authentication code: 6789

Image / Video Subtraction techniques

Post by hhs_89 »

I am new to Image processing and have learnt only few bits using Octave + net resources.

I am trying to subtract two images A & B. A contains noise and B doesn't. Both of these images are gray (blank shaded of gray white image) and the noise looks like a a few dark shaded pixels runnnig horizontally in image A which can be distinguished visually.

Using imsubtract method deosn't give me the result I want, so I am looking for advanced techniques / steps that can help this issue.

The noise on the image is due to flicker on LCD screen which is captured by camera. I also plan to apply this subtraction technique(s) on the video of under same conditions.

In tutorials I found people subtracting videos but those are rich in color, my input image is lacks color. But definitely running through pixel values will result in some differences.

Aany ideas? Am I thinking correctly about this problem by utlizing FFT and pixel subtraction based techniques?
snibgo
Authentication code: 1151

Re: Image / Video Subtraction techniques

Post by snibgo »

I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve. Perhaps: given a noisy and noiseless version of the same image, assume other images have the same noise, so de-noise them. Is that right?

I suggest you upload example images. You can upload to somewhere like dropbox.com and paste the URLs here.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
hhs_89

Post by hhs_89 »

Snibgo, here is the link two images taken at different instant of time which I am try to process:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/nbzw0zl3gojn ... rqCba?dl=0
hhs_89

Post by hhs_89 »