Trimming scanned images with random borders?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Tillomar
Authentication code: 1151

Trimming scanned images with random borders?

Post by Tillomar »

Hi *,

I could use some help as I'm new to ImageMagick. I started doing the work (manually) with Photoshop, but quickly realized that both my time and my sanity would expire before getting through. When looking around for automated solutions, I found that if any software could, most likly ImageMagick would do the job.
(Sorry that the explanation is not as short as I would have liked. Well, it's according to the problem...)

I need to trim/crop around 1000+ scanned images: The scanner detects the page size automatically, and most of the time got it right. However, a lot of images show additional borders which I need to remove.

This is (the link to) a demonstration image without page contents, but clearly showing the page edge shadows on three sides:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/htldz4q4zh50bgq/C600_086.tif

The additional borders are detectable because
  • the image size deviates from the default page size by more then +/- 20 px for each affected axis
  • the scanner has the borders separated from the page contents by a small shadow which has a sharp edge to the page contents, but a blurry edge to the outside.
I tried the examples from the documentation regarding fuzzy trim, but there are some problems:
  • extra border on the top has never a shadow, so trimming the top edge would have to be done using a standard page length after fixing the bottom edge
  • The shadow width is variable between scans and along the edge; the position for trimming should therefore be the "inner" (sharp) edge, so the extra border is removed up to the inner edge of the shadow.