Creating a portable, standalone version for Mac OS

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
HairyDalek
Authentication code: 1151

Creating a portable, standalone version for Mac OS

Post by HairyDalek »

Hi,
I’m new to ImageMagick, and pretty inexperienced when it comes to building and compiling applications in the Terminal on a Mac. I have been spending a good portion of the last day or so trying to get what I want by trying various builds of ImageMagick, but with little success.

I’m using LiveCode to create a Mac program that processes images - blurs, some composites etc., and after finding that achieving that kind of effect with LiveCode was taking longer than the last Ice Age to blur a 380x380 pixel image (ok, overstatement there - but you could certainly make a cup of tea while you waited), I decide that you really won’t want to wait for it to chug through a 5mp image, which it may have to when the output button is clicked.

So I came across ImageMagic. It does what I want (and a whole load more than I could comfortably code in LC - which is great - it’s given me ideas), so I installed it on my Mac using MacPort as suggested.